THE THRILLING RETURN OF MOOSE & SQUIRREL

Sorry, but this column isn’t for Bullwinkle aficionados. I just wanted to mention that ever since I read the coverage of David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson’s appearance at the recent WonderCon in San Francisco, I’ve been very excited about the return of “The X-Files” to the big screen (if you watched the show, you know that Duchovny’s character Fox Mulder once referred to himself and Agent Scully as Moose And Squirrel).

During its 9 season run, “The X-Files” was my favorite show. I really enjoyed piecing together the clues to understanding the conspiracy that executive producer Chris Carter created, and the humorous give and take between Mulder and Scully made them my favorite TV couple. So while I also appreciated the sci-fi and horror plots, the most memorable moments of the show for me were between Mulder and Scully, such as when Mulder showed Scully how to hit a baseball in the episode, “The Unnatural,” or when the pair took a turn on the dance floor to the music of Cher in “The Post-Modern Prometheus.”

So of course, as a fan, I especially enjoyed attending the junket for 1998’s “The X-Files: Fight The Future.” Not only did I get to see the movie early, it was my first chance to meet the stars (and to get them to autograph a keepsake for me, a Cinefantastique with Mulder and Scully on the cover). But my favorite moment came as Chris Carter was leaving our table after our fifteen minutes with him. I said, “So the reason that bee got stuck in Scully’s collar was because of the alien implant in her neck, right?” While Chris didn’t give me a direct answer, he did smile, so I knew I was right. And just like that, all the pieces of the conspiracy that was the backbone of “The X-Files” fell into place.

Ever since, every time I’ve had a chance to interview David Duchovny, I’ve brought along a piece of “X-Files” memorabilia to autograph, and he’s always signed it gladly. Unfortunately, I haven’t interviewed Gillian Anderson since, as she’s mostly been working in England in recent years.

I do have one worry about the “X-Files” sequel though. Chris Carter has promised to make the movie very scary. How am I supposed to enjoy the reunion of two of my favorite characters while I’m hiding my eyes?

One Response to “THE THRILLING RETURN OF MOOSE & SQUIRREL”

  1. Eleanore Says:

    Wonderful post! I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to see the enthusiasm growing for this project. I definitely share your feelings on the show, and it’s clear you were a dedicated fan. It’s nice to know that you’ve also had several opportunities to meet and/or interview David, who is a wonderfully kind and generous man, not to mention probably my favorite actor.

    I had the opportunity to attend the WonderCon panel (I’m an amateur photographer hoping to break into press photography), and it was an incredible experience. The amount of excitement and anticipation in that room was palpable throughout the morning, and the cheers for the teaser footage (and of course the stars) were deafening. X-Files is back, baby!

Leave a Reply

