MR. POPULARITY

After I wrote the entry, “Ghosts Of Idols Past,” a week ago, I had my biggest number of page looks since I began blogging on January 1st: 206. I immediately realized the reason was the article mentioned the names of a few popular formal “Idol” contestants, and their fans found out and clicked in. So I had the idea that if I wrote about the “Idol” star with the most dedicated fan base, I thought I might reach a new plateau… and boy, was I right!

Over 1500 people have looked at my last entry, “My Life As A Claymate” (thanks to one of the comments, I now know  I should have called myself a Claydawg, but I don’t think I’m going to change it…). Obviously that’s many more people than I thought I would ever reach, and that doesn’t even count the many Clay fans that have read the article when it was reprinted on other websites.

I especially enjoyed looking at the chart WordPress provides showing  how many hits your blog gets each day. In the past, it looked like a series of small hills. Today it looked like a straight line with one very tall and thin triangle on one side reaching all the way up to the top of the page!

So I thank everyone for taking a look at my work and for all the kind words about my writing. I did want to add a few comments though. First off, to everyone who recommended that I fly out  immediately to see Clay’s turn in “Spamalot,” sadly, I won’t be visiting the east coast again until later in the summer when he’s long gone.

To those who are eagerly awaiting what I might have to say about Clay’s upcoming album, be careful what you wish for! While there is no doubt in my mind about Clay’s talent, I am very tough when it comes to judging song quality. If the songs aren’t up to snuff, I won’t be afraid to say so… although maybe I should be, considering the passion I’ve seen all of you display! Still, like you, I hope Clay reaches a new, even higher standard when it comes to the CD.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to get some sleep so I’ll be wide awake tomorrow for interviews which only my usual thirty readers will care about. It’s just a shame George Clooney and Renee Zelwegger don’t have the popularity Clay does!

Leave a Reply

