AMERICAN IDOL 7: TOP 2 ANALYSIS

Even though it doesn’t matter anymore what was sung, I still thought I should write this up so as to have a complete record of the season. Although after hearing many of the contestants this season say how they were annoyed with (as one of the Top Ten said) fat guys in their underwear with no life writing about them, I feel bad about being tough at times on the kids. Now that that’s going to stop me…

CLIVE’S CHOICES:

“I STILL HAVEN’T FOUND WHAT I’M LOOKING FOR” – David Cook

David has brought a bit of Bono to some of his earlier performances, so it was fitting he sing U-2. This didn’t show his smarts when it comes to arranging, as it hewed to the original, but it was still enjoyable.

“DON’T LET THE SUN GO DOWN ON ME” – David Archuleta

Nice touch starting the song sitting on the stage, which gave it a thoughtful feel. But Clay Aiken still owns this song, as it’s obvious David A. hasn’t lived the heartache of the lyric.

SONG CONTEST:

“DREAM BIG” – David Cook

Well, I’m glad they didn’t sing the same song. Unlike Mr. Cowell, I thought this was catchy with a good lyric. The key seemed a bit high for David, but it was fun.

“IN THIS MOMENT” – David Archuleta

I hated this song. It makes me want to vote against David A. just so “Dream Big” would get released! Let’s hope they put out “Angels” instead…

CONTESTANTS CHOICE:

“THE WORLD I KNOW” – David Cook

An O.K. performance, but I don’t know the song and it didn’t knock me out. But David C. has been saying he designed the season as a set list for one of his concerts, so this is a nice thoughtful encore.

“IMAGINE” – David Archuleta

Great tone, and another great performance. David A. wins the night… and I thought “American Idol.” But we all know how that turned out!

Leave a Reply

