COUNTRY TIME

So in the end, I did twelve phone interviews with various performers that are scheduled to appear on our show. Everyone had great stories to tell about George Strait and certainly seemed to be in awe of his talent.

You know you’re working with country music stars when they apologize profusely for missing their appointed interview time. Dierks Bentley had just gotten off the road and took off for a relaxing day in the mountains, where he discovered his cell phone wasn’t working. Needless to say, he sounded mighty sorry the next day when we connected. Another country superstar, Kix Brooks of Brooks & Dunn, was under the weather and called me anyway. John Rich took time out from doing publicity in New York City for his brand new album that had been released that very day. LeAnn Rimes called from a recording session, while Jamie Foxx (hey, he is from Texas) called from a movie set.

Tomorrow we pack up the production office in order to move to Las Vegas to work on the show onsite. I’ve got my plane trip and room booked, I’ve got my meal vouchers and I’ve got my per diem. All I have to do now is remember I’m there to work…

Leave a Reply

